Self-Compassion, What?!

“Owning our story and loving ourselves through that process is the bravest thing that we will ever do.” ~Breneยด Brown, Ph.D., L.M.S.W
Self-Compassion is a new concept for me. All my life I was the person who cared and did everything for others but completely neglected herself. I very rarely took the time to understand myself, to know what I like or dislike, who I want to be, what I want to be, etc. I thought that by helping others I would be able to find myself, but oh man, I was wrong. It turned into me being used and taken advantage of by many. Now, in my mid-twenties, I’m emotionally and mentally drained, and simply put; at a complete loss. As a result of all this, for the first time in my entire life, I decided to be selfish.

Yes, it took A LOT in me to say ‘no’. I was always the ‘yes’ gal. ‘Yes’ I can do that for you. ‘Yes’ I can design this for free. ‘Yes’ I will organize this event even though I’m completely exhausted. ‘yes, yes, yes’. I was always afraid to say ‘no’ as if I would lose the world’s greatest opportunity if I declined. As if my life depended on it. You live and learn, right? I’ve learned, and now I want to live. I want to indulge myself into whatever puts a smile on my face, whether it’s exploring new places, or spending quality time with my family, or making really crappy short films, or taking amateur-ish photos, or tasting new foods, I want to do it for ME.

This is why I decided to go on this creative adventure. Creativity brings peace into my mind and soul. Even though I’m the most amateur of the amateurs, at least I’m trying right? So I’m using this blog to write and explore this adventure, the different creative things I will be exploring (right now, it’s nature photography because I’m a tree hugger and I love me some trees), and everything in between.

All in all, if you’ve put yourself on the bottom of the list, stop! Take the time to know and love yourself. Especially if you are still young. You’re now building the foundation for the rest of your life. If the foundation is weak, then how will you ever grow?

4 thoughts on “Self-Compassion, What?!”

  1. I’m going through a similar journey as you! It’s hard and consuming to put so much time and energy into yourself, but I think it’s the most important thing a young woman can do for herself in this day. Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah! It’s always a bit uplifting when you find someone going through the same journey as you are! You are absolutely right as well, it really is the most important and challenging thing to go through as a young woman. Good luck with your journey ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

