Fear of the Blank Page

img_2571

If I was given a blank page and was told to “draw something”, I will most likely fall into a panic attack. No joke. I believe this fear developed in my early college years…

As design students we carried lots and lots of blank paper for ideation and sketching. When our professors would tell us to pull out paper and start sketching, my mind would go as blank as the paper in front of me. I would sit there and stare at my classmates hunched over with their pens dancing vigorously in the air as they sketched away. I, on the other hand, would be in panic mode with my mind racing and heart pounding vigorously instead. Once everyone was done, they would show off their beautiful master pieces and I had nothing but chicken scratches.

It destroyed my confidence. It destroyed who I wanted to be; a talented designer and an artist. It reached to the point where I completely neglected the idea of ever improving. I’ve been angry with myself ever since.

It’s been four years since I graduated, and I’m ready to move on now. So as a part of this creative adventure, I decided to face this fear by giving myself a “30 Day Blank Page Challenge”. In which I will sketch whatever comes to mind on a blank page for the next 30 days. Sounds simple but my heart is already racing just thinking about it.

I hope to keep you updated on my progress in the next couple of weeks. Wish me luck and so stay tuned!

3 thoughts on “Fear of the Blank Page”

Leave a Reply

